Apple Event Liveblog: iPhone, Apple Watch, iOS 12, and More


On Wednesday, September 12, Apple will announce its next iPhones. Thanks to the usual trickle of leaks in the month leading up to the event, we have a pretty solid idea of what’s coming. We’ll likely get an update to the current iPhone X, as well as a larger version of the premium handset. We may also see a lower-cost version of the iPhone X that uses different materials and components. All signs point to the fact that all new iPhones will have no home buttons and no dedicated fingerprint sensors. Hmm! We’ll get a walkthrough of iOS 12 on the new hardware. Lastly, there’s an off chance we’ll see updates to hardware like iPad Pro, MacBook Air, and Mac Mini, though we may have to wait until next month for those iPad and PC announcements.

The event starts at 10 am PDT, or 1 pm on the east coast. We’ll be liveblogging all the action from Apple’s new campus in Cupertino, California and posting live updates as the event unfolds. Come back right here to this post to read our liveblog starting at 9 am PDT. Yes, that’s one hour before the main event, but we’ll have a lot to talk about, so we’re getting an early start.

You can watch live video of Apple’s big show in your browser, on any iOS device, or on an Apple TV. Why do we publish a liveblog even though you can watch the event on video? Because we love liveblogs, that’s why. You probably love liveblogs too. So join us here starting at 9 am PDT, 12 noon EDT. This page will switch to our liveblog once we start. Apple’s presentation then begins at 10 am PDT, 1pm EDT.

Go Back to Top. Skip To: Start of Article.